an open letter to my menfolk

29 Aug

dear men,

you know that coco loves her some menfolk. the whole “being from mars” thing…i adore that whole ‘pragmatic’ and ‘focused’ martian thang you got going on.   some of my best friends are men, and my life is boozier richer because of their presence.  i’ve also been blessed with some amazing boyfriends who’ve showed me unconditional love and respect…two things  i’ll carry with me for the rest of my life.

so then why is coco ready to go to war with some of your kind?  read on…

i’ve grown up being told that i live in an era of equality.  where you and i are now on equal playing fields.   and it’s supposed to be an awesome time for us ladies.  i mean, beyonce is always singing about it, so it must be true, right?  we have the rights and opportunities that generations of women before us only dreamed of.  so why is it that in many ways it still kinda sucks to be a woman in 2011?

the reasons range from general annoyances to utterly unacceptable. maybe i could turn a blind eye to the (many) male colleagues over the years who find it acceptable to stare at my boobs while i attempt to talk about business…but since it’s pretty prevalent, it makes it difficult. and the fact that i have to constantly think about my personal safety when taking a walk, putting things in my car, and basically any facet of my life?  well, i’m really tired of that, too.

and while all of the above stinks, my female friends and i continue to live our lives and rise above the nonsense.  deal with it.  be strong.  be better than all that.  but as of today, i’ve officially had it. today i learned that a second female friend in as many months was sexually assaulted.  while both crimes were different, both were perpetrated at the hands of “normal guys” who took advantage of a woman and their respective situations to not only do something unthinkable…but to also ensure that their prosecution will be extremely difficult.  you can read about one of the horrendous violations here:

http://www.thebrokeassbride.com/2011/08/an-open-letter-to-spirit-airlines/

please don’t get me wrong.  i truly don’t think that all men are bad..or even a large proportion.  but what i AM saying is that there’s enough bad behavior towards women going around that we must shout a collective “ENOUGH is ENOUGH!”.  i’m asking you to demand more from your peers. to speak up when disrespect towards women is overheard or witnessed.  to lead by example and ensure that our our boys and young men have oodles of positive role-models.

please please please let’s start talking about how we treat each other, and join together to create the change we all deserve.  i’d really like that.

love,

your coco

3 Responses to “an open letter to my menfolk”

  1. The G Spot August 29, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    In my defense, when I was staring at your boobs, it was because I was in a very incoherent state and I all could do was look forward and focus on not throwing up in the hot tub.

    That being said, we still have dickheads from my side of the species that tell stories like this that make me sick to my stomach.

    http://poupak.tumblr.com/post/9390393469/on-the-subject-of-rape

  2. coco August 29, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    wow…i hadn’t seen that story, g spot. how f’n disturbing!!!

    and i’ve been reading all your blogs…keep ’em coming! hope you sell your screenplay and move back to lalaland!

  3. J Shay August 29, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Amen, sister!

Leave a Reply

