risky business

31 May

hollywood.  it is not only the land of kardashians and kale…it’s also mecca for risk-takers.  you can’t swing a cat without hitting someone who’s in the throws of risk-taking in the pursuit of his or her dreams.

(please note: coco does NOT endorse the swinging of cats because a) it’s just a saying b) that would be seriously f*cked up and c) you won’t live to see another day as the cat will win.  cats always win because they are awesome.  so no cat swinging, ok?)

so how did coco, queen of playing-it-safe, end up in a city so incongruous with her lack of appetite for raw food diets and yoga risk?

(btw…omfg…did coco just use the word “incongruous”?!  like a boss!  my 9th grade english teacher is freaking out somewhere right now. )

well, after 5+ years of scratching my head on this one, i’m gonna stop asking.  instead, i’m gonna start embracing where i’m at and what i can learn from others in hollyriskland.  so it’s official, y’all…risk is SO gonna be my b*tch!  and since i know my aunt nancy is reading this, she need not worry i’m gonna shave my head, join the hari krishnas, and pick up an opium addiction…

this will NOT be me…at least not in the foreseeable future.

instead, i’m gonna start small.  try new things.  face that little voice in coco’s head that says, “you can’t….you shouldn’t” and ask why the fudge not?  and if that little voice doesn’t have a better reason than “it’s scary”, then i’m gonna punch it in its imaginary face.

this makes me giggle something fierce…

i took a big leap today and faced something head-on that’s been instilling fear in me more than my upcoming credit card bill. and yes, i might have felt like throwing up a few times after and have oscillated between rocking myself in the fetal position feelings of total regret and moderate “wtf, coco!”  but i also feel free.  good, even.  and while that might be the 5 pm vodka cocktail speaking, i can’t help but to think that i can do this.  i can free myself from the self-doubt that holds me back. i can truly believe that my feelings and desires and dreams are valid and kinda awesome. i can be okay with making mistakes and learning from them.  and most importantly, i can allow myself to not only dream and actually consider a life where that dream comes true.

and if that’s still mr vodka speaking on my behalf, he’s a pretty awesome spokesperson.

carpe that freakin diem, people!

xo

4 Responses to “risky business”

  1. Nancy dubuque May 31, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Yes, your right I just read it and laught my you know what off. Of course, I love the vodka part even though I don’t do vodka, you are behind on happy hour. It starts at four in Florida so you are a hour behind. Glad you aren’t shaving your head and you go girl and kick butt at whatever you do. I will think about handing out George’s phone number to you. Oh by the way I am wine or coconut rum girl or old lady I should say.

    • Yonni's Wacky Workshop May 31, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      ;)-

      @Aunt Nancy – You kids are a little ahead of me. It is almost 10pm and I am still on my first bottle of Pinot Noir… I agree with you about the head-shaving – no hair = no happy Coco! Maybe we should let her shave just one side to see what it looks like . . . 😉

      @Coco – You do not swing a cat from it’s tail because the skin and fur separate from the meat and the cat flies through the air… Later, the meat becomes infected, the hair never grows back and you end up with a scarred, rat-tailed looking thing that just never is the same – seen it. NOT pretty! 😦

      Anywho – between phone calls and typing, it is now after 10pm and I have to get my beauty sleep before the ride to East LA in the morning – yucka pucka!

      Big hugs, GREAT reading from you, keep up the good work and all the best ~ MUAH! 🙂

      • coco June 14, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

        muah right back atcha, dearest!

    • coco June 14, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      mmmm, wine and coconut rum=yummy!! xo

Leave a Reply

